The here and now and a bit of way back then

I relived my journey to 40 and found there's so much more to say

The things that Dads do

on June 19, 2016

It is Father’s Day today as I’m sure you know. Unless you’re my Dad, Mr Li who only found out earlier today in our weekly call, though he thinks he may have heard someone mention something vaguely about it earlier in the week. But he doesn’t quite know because he can’t hear much and I think in our telephone call he just guessed what was going on and just asked random questions.

 

You see he had an accident with someone’s phone a few weeks ago and we think it’s burst his ear drum. I asked him ‘what about your other ear, can you hear me in that one?’ He replies ‘that one’s been gone for some years now.’ The things you learn about your own Dad. So now he can’t hear me in either ear. And yet he still calls up every week.

 

As #1, 2 and 3 get older, our household seems more and more chaotic. The noise levels, the things that need doing, the places that need getting to. We look forward to the weekends but there are occasions where it feels like everything is just none stop. As colleagues talk about getting up at midday and enjoying a lazy weekend, maybe go shopping, out for dinner or to the cinemas. I almost want to scowl at them. I probably do. I can just about remember those days and now I wonder how is it even possible to sleep in until midday. If I did that now, the kids would have missed out on two meals and a snack.

 

But there are occasions where I get to sleep in until 10.30am following impromptu Friday Night Beers. Or if I haven’t had FNBs then I may be up before dawn for an early morning run. Or I could just have had a good night’s sleep without realising that Husband has been up several times in the night tending to #1, 2 or 3.

 

The point is, if I am not doing the doing for #1, 2 and 3 then someone has to be. And who else would that someone be?

 

I know there are times where I have vocalised to Husband about the things that I think he doesn’t do. But equally what about the things that he does do. That all Dads do.

 

It’s still been quite a chaotic Sunday like any normal day but at least #1, 2 and 3 almost let Husband choose how to spend it in appreciation for all that he does for them. For us.

 

Husband says, ‘you know what my colleague says is the best gift you can give on Father’s Day? Breakfast in bed. Followed by a day by yourself.’

 

Happy Father’s Day to all Dads.

 

 

Leave a Reply

