The here and now and a bit of way back then

I relived my journey to 40 and found there's so much more to say

2014 Year End Review

on December 31, 2014

It’s New Year’s Eve again!

Time to wave off the old and ring in the new.

I’m not surprised this year seems to have whizzed by for me as two thirds of it was dominated by the lead up to Embracing 40 and then soon after it was all about my much long overdue trip to the UK.

Speaking for myself, I’ve really enjoyed nearly all of 2014. It didn’t start off so well with a couple of things that have since resolved themselves enough for me to feel happy about. But the rest of it has been pretty amazing.

In this year of Embracing 40, I wasn’t sure of what to expect. I knew I would meet it head on, enjoy it and to celebrate it fully. I wasn’t expecting just how great my family and friends would make me feel about it all. I still feel incredibly touched by all the thoughtful gifts and gestures that came my way. I have been very lucky and spoilt.

The highlight of my year without question was going back to the UK for nearly seven weeks. To introduce #3 to my parents and many family and friends is something I was looking forward to doing since she arrived. Although I would have liked it to have been much sooner, I think heading back to the UK this year was good for us as a family as we could do much more and not have to work around the needs of a small baby. #1 especially loved being back in the UK, #2 isn’t so sure yet and #3 will still just go with the flow. For now.

And of course there was the chance to see you. The you being all the people I have missed so much since we’ve been away from the UK. Do you know how much it means to know that you’re still all there when we come back? Six years away when we thought it would be two or three and to still find we all get on like it was no time at all. I loved that very much.

Of course I’ve always known this but I’m surrounded by people who mean so very much to me. It’s been a great honour to share some of their special occasions too. From the weddings of Big D and Sister In Law to being part of the celebrations of Mrs Cake Pops and Nana Moon who also Embraced 40 this year.

Not forgetting the Birthday celebrations of #1, 2 and 3 this year. They turned five, four and two. It’s been a really good year with them as we watch the dynamics change so that #3 is very much an active member of the family. Sometimes it’s been a challenge, especially with the assault on the ears with the noise levels they generate but as we move away from the toddler stage, we can look forward to doing much more together. Even our holiday to Japan was less daunting than we thought it would be.

Then there’s the knowledge that Brilliant New Adventure is indeed enjoying her brilliant new adventure in Hong Kong. I like living vicariously through her with the fabulous new life she’s leading. I still miss her dreadfully but with all the mod cons we have these days, no one is truly that far away.

Even my Dad, Mr Li with his new smartphone is just a what’sapp away. That can be a good and a bad thing as I discovered earlier this year with the sharing of news between family members that I once could keep from them.

But amongst all the good things that have come my way, for some close to me it has not been such a celebratory year. For them, I give much time and thought.

Equally, in the world news this year the memory of some events will never leave me. So for these tragic events I will also give much time and thought and for the friends who have been affected by them too. Sometimes, it’s much less than six degrees of separation. More like two degrees.

But as New Year’s Eve symbolises, it is the end of another year. Whether it be good or less so. Whether you come away with great memories or not so great ones. Either way it’s almost done now. Tomorrow beckons a whole new one to fill and look forward to.

For tonight and for the first time since 2007, Husband and I are off out to a genuine party for Grown Ups only to see in the New Year. I’m looking forward to starting 2015 with another three day hangover.

Wherever you are and however you may be celebrating the end of 2014, I wish you a very good one. Cheers to you.

Thank you for sticking with me and my blog and I’ll see you in the New Year.

With much love.

Karen xx

20141231-204231.jpg

Leave a Reply

