The here and now and a bit of way back then

I relived my journey to 40 and found there's so much more to say

Happy New Year! It’s 2014!

on January 1, 2014

Happy New Year! I wonder how many of you are nursing hangovers following a great New Year’s Eve celebration?

At some points in the evening, it was a bit touch and go whether we would make it past midnight and you could feel the palpable relief amongst Husband, Mr and Mrs Imperturbable and myself when we looked at the time and realised it was 11.10pm and we were most definitely going to make it to see in 2014 awake. However, Mrs Imperturbable managed to fit in a cheeky ten minute Nana nap in between.

It’s a brand new year to be filled with optimism and new adventures! Last year had some great moments that inevitably involved my children. #1 gaining so much self confidence at school and developing his own sense of the world. #2 also started at the same school in March and after a rocky start, I was so happy to see her settled and making friends of her own in addition to the ones she’s inherited from #1. Then there’s #3, who started off the year as a baby and is now a walking, yelling bundle of fun and mischief. They have achieved so much last year and have kept us busy and will most likely continue to do so this year too!

Last year, Husband and Uncle Monkey hit a milestone birthday, along with a few other friends. We passed the half a decade mark in Singapore. I went away on a brilliant three day trip with Nana Moon to Hanoi, Vietnam and we went away to Phuket for our first family of five holiday. New babies arrived that I’m looking forward to meeting and one baby arrived with me right there beside her.

Yes, there are good times to remember from 2013. Yet equally there were a few blips that could have done with not blipping happening at all. However, as one good friend has always said, the rough must come with the smooth. Without the hard times, how can you appreciate all that life has to give? If you don’t experience some tough times, how can you grow? This may all be well and true and all this will make us the empathetic people we need to be in order to provide support for each other and be the worldly wise people to guide the young ones. But it’s a hard awakening all the same and it’s not easy.

So with that all said, I’m going to start this year looking forward.

2014 is going to be a year of weddings and big birthdays! It’s exciting starting off the year with big dates in the diary already. #1 turns five next week! Five feels quite a big number. But not as big as FORTY!

This is the year I’ll be forty. It sparked a frisson of nerves thinking about it as I said out loud last night was my last New Year’s Eve in my thirties.

I never thought of a wish list of things to do before hitting forty, quite simply because I don’t think I would have had the time to fulfil many of those wishes. I do think though, that I’d like a list of things to do afterwards. New goals, ambitions, hobbies to achieve.

For now though, I think my New Year’s Resolutions will be:

1. Get more sleep. I think I’ll be a better parent, wife, friend, family member and member of society if I get more sleep.

2. Be more organised. I’m always trying to be this!

3. Do more in Singapore! You never know when it’s time to move on.

I always enjoy the thought of a New Year’s Day walk and so this afternoon we wandered down to the Singapore River with #1, 2 and 3.

20140101-224429.jpg

Happy New Year to you and yours! May 2014 bring you good health and happiness. May every day give you something to smile about and may you find strength when you need it. May I also see you this year too. With much love for a great year. So I must go to bed now before I break a Resolution when I’ve barely begun.

20140101-224833.jpg

Leave a Reply

